Wyoming Wild Turkey Hunting Regulations

Section 1: Regulatory Authority

  • Statutory Basis: This regulation is enacted under the authority of Wyoming Statute § 23-1-302, providing the legal framework for managing and regulating wild turkey hunting in the state.

Section 2: Specific Hunting Regulations

(a) License Limitations

  • Single License Rule: Individuals are restricted to applying for or receiving only one license for a wild turkey in any given season, unless specified otherwise in this regulation.
  • Bag Limit: The maximum number of wild turkeys that can be legally harvested per person per license is limited to one.

(b) Issuance of Licenses

  • Annual License Cap: No person is allowed to apply for or receive more than one fall and one spring wild turkey license in any calendar year.
  • Post-Drawing Additional Licenses: Following the initial drawing, eligible individuals may apply for up to three wild turkey licenses per season, with the stipulation that at least two of these are Limited Quota Type 3 licenses.
  • Seasonal Total License Limit: A total of no more than three wild turkey licenses are permissible for each of the fall and spring seasons, except as authorized in Commission regulations.

(c) Use of Nontoxic Shot

  • Shot Restrictions: Only nontoxic shot is permitted for hunting wild turkeys with a shotgun in the Springer and Table Mountain Wildlife Habitat Management Areas and on all national wildlife refuges open for hunting.

(d) Evidence of Sex Requirement

  • Spring Season Beard Requirement: In spring seasons where hunting is restricted to male wild turkeys or those with a visible beard, the beard must remain naturally attached to the carcass for identification purposes both in the field and during transportation.

Archery Regulations and Hunt Area Descriptions for Wild Turkey

Section 3: Archery Regulations

Wild turkeys can be hunted with archery equipment during any open season, as defined in Section 2 of this chapter. This regulation allows for the use of bows and arrows in the pursuit of wild turkeys, provided that the hunter complies with all other relevant laws and regulations pertaining to hunting seasons and wildlife management.

Section 4: Hunt Area Descriptions

For the purpose of wild turkey hunting, various areas have been designated, each with its own geographical boundaries.

Area 1: Black Hills

  • Location: Encompasses all of Crook County and parts of Weston County.
  • Boundaries: Includes areas north of U.S. Highway 16 and east of U.S. Highway 85 in Weston County.

Area 2: Central

  • Location: Covers parts of Weston County and entirety of Converse, Natrona, and Niobrara counties.
  • Boundaries: Includes areas in Weston County that are south of U.S. Highway 16 and west of U.S. Highway 85.

Area 3: Powder River

  • Location: Constitutes all of Campbell, Johnson, and Sheridan counties.

Area 4: Bighorn Basin

  • Location: Comprises all of Big Horn, Hot Springs, Park, and Washakie counties.

Area 5: South Central

  • Location: Includes all of Albany, Carbon, Fremont, Goshen, Laramie, and Platte counties.
Wild Advisor Pro


The legal advice provided on Wild Advisor Pro is intended as a summary of the hunting, camping, hiking, and fishing laws and regulations and does not constitute legal language or professional advice. We make every effort to ensure the information is accurate and up to date, but it should not be relied upon as legal authority. For the most current and comprehensive explanation of the laws and regulations, please consult the official government websites or a qualified legal professional. Wild Advisor Pro is not responsible for any misunderstandings or misinterpretations of the information presented and shall not be held liable for any losses, damages, or legal disputes arising from the use of this summary information. Always check with the appropriate governmental authorities for the latest information regarding outdoor regulations and compliance.